People


 


Chief Scientist

priscuJohn Priscu

  • Professor, Land Resources and Environmental Sciences, Montana State University
  • Aquatic Biogeochemist/Ecosystem Ecologist
  • jpriscu@montana.edu


Executive Committee

bradrosenheimBrad Rosenheim

  • Associate Professor, College of Marine Sciences, University of South Florida
  • brosenheim@usf.edu

brent-christnerBrent Christner

  • Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Cell Science, University of Florida
  • Microbial ecology and environmental microbiology
  • xner@ufl.edu

helenfrickerHelen Amanda Fricker

  • Professor IGPP, Scripps Institution of Oceanography UCSD
  • Glaciologist, GPS and satellite radar/laser altimetry for estimates of lake activity
  • hafricker@ucsd.edu

jmcmanisJames McManis

  • Manager, Engineering & Science Research Support Facility, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
  • Engineering & Manufacturing Management, design of deep and shallow ice drilling equipment, manufacturing, machining & fabrication
  • jmcmanis1@unl.edu


Principal Investigators

dore_johnJohn Dore

  • Associate Research Professor, Department of Land Resources and Environmental Science, Montana State University
  • Geobiology and biogeochemistry
  • jdore@montana.edu

kathydsc_0126_squareKathy Kasic

  • Assistant Professor, Film Program, Communication Studies, California State University – Sacramento
  • Education & outreach, documentary director & cinematographer
  • kathykasic@gmail.com

amyleventer_square.jpgAmy Leventer

  • Professor, Department of Geology, Colgate University
  • Diatom biostratigraphy and paleoenvironments
  • aleventer@colgate.edu

berrylyons.jpgBerry Lyons

  • Professor, School Director, Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center, Ohio State University
  • Geochemistry
  • lyons.142@osu.edu

skids_markMark Skidmore

  • Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, Montana State University
  • Biogeochemistry and geomicrobiology
  • skidmore@montana.edu

harwood2007David Harwood

  • Professor and Stout Chair in Stratigraphy, Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences; Director, Antarctic Science Management Office, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
  • Diatom biostratigraphy and sedimentology; management – Hot Water Drilling Team
  • dharwood1@unl.edu

Eugenedomackcrop.jpge Domack

  • Deceased: Link to Obituary
  • Professor of Geological Oceanography, College of Marine Science, University of South Florida
  • edomack@usf.edu


Project Staff

cindy-dean-for-salsa-websiteCindy Dean

  • Project Manager
  • cynthia.dean@montana.edu

duling_dennisDennis Duling

  • Lead Driller, Senior Researcher, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
  • dulingde@yahoo.com

zook_bobBob Zook

  • ROV Operator, Chief Engineer, SCINI Team, Antarctic Science Management Office, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • bobbyzook@gmail.com

burnett_justinJustin Burnett

  • Driller & ROV Operator, Mechanical Engineer, Applied Physics Lab., University of Washington, contracted through University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • jburnett@apl.washington.edu

fisher towers-2Mark Bowling

  • ROV Operator, Mechanical Engineer, SCINI Team, Antarctic Science Management Office, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • markbowling08@gmail.com

2012-12-14_15.55.07a-2John Winans

  • ROV Operator, Control System Engineer, Research Associate, Center for Research Computing and Data, Northern Illinois University, contracted through University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • jwinans@niu.edu

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgGraham Roberts

  • Senior Driller, Mechanical Engineer, Antarctic Science Management Office, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • cm3h2o@gmail.com

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgDar Gibson

  • Senior Driller, Antarctic Science Management Office, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • dargibson@yahoo.com

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgJonas Kalin

  • Senior Driller, contracted through University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • jonas.kalin@gmail.com

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgAnatoly Mironov

  • Driller, Electronics Shop Manager, Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Development, design, manufacturing, upgrade, maintenance, repair and technical support of various electronic equipment
  • amironov2@unl.edu

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgEdwin Krula

  • Driller, Welding Technician, Antarctic Science Management Office, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • linsab@windstream.net

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgJames Roth

  • Driller, University of Delaware, contracted through University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • roth@bartol.udel.edu


Post Doc

wei-liWei Li

  • Post Doctoral Scientist, Department Land Resources and Environmental Sciences, Montana State University
  • Microbial ecology and geomicrobiology
  • wei.li02@montana.edu


Graduate Students

august-steigmeyer-salsa-web-photoAugust Steigmeyer

  • PhD Candidate, Department of Earth Sciences, Montana State University
  • august.steigmeyer@­student.montana.edu

20171215_141939Billy Collins

  • MFA Candidate, Education and Outreach Graduate Research Assistant, School of Film and Photography, Montana State University
  • bccollins21@gmail.com

photo-4Ryan Venturelli

  • PhD student, College of Marine Science, University of South Florida
  • raventurelli@usf.edu

IMG_E1796-2Christina Davis

  • PhD candidate, Department of Microbiology and Cell Science, University of Florida
  • christinadavis@ufl.edu

cathysquareheadshot (1)Cathy Trainor

  • MFA Candidate, Education and Outreach Intern, School of Film and Photography, Montana State University
  • cctrainor@gmail.com

_DSC2324-XL-2Timothy Campbell

  • M.S. Candidate, Department of Earth Sciences, Montana State University
  • timothy.campbell2@student.montana.edu

Salsa_FINAL_1.12.17_patch-sm.jpgChloe Gustafson

  • PhD Candidate, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Columbia University
  • Hydrologic imaging using electromagnetic methods
  • cdg2152@columbia.edu


Collaborators

siegfried_matthew_jt_squareMatthew Siegfried

  • Researcher, Assistant Professor, Department of Geophysics, Colorado School of Mines
  • siegfried@mines.edu

barbanti_carloCarlo Barbante

  • Professor of Analytical Chemistry, Director of the Institute for the Dynamics of Environmental Processes, University Ca’Foscari Venice
  • barbante@unive.it

tranter_martynMartyn Tranter

  • Professor, Director, Bristol Glaciology Centre, School of Geographical Sciences, University of Bristol, UK
  • Biogeochemical processes in the cryosphere
  • m.tranter@bristol.ac.uk

oksun-kimOk-Sun Kim

  • PhD in Microbial Ecology, Senior Research Scientist Division of Polar Life Sciences, Korea Polar Research Institute
  • oskim@kopri.re.kr

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATrista Vick-Majors

  • Postdoctoral Research Associate, Flathead Lake Biological Station, University of Montana
  • Biogeochemistry and Microbial Ecology
  • http://www.tristavickmajors.com
  • tristyv@gmail.com

SALSAwebphoto_MichaudAlex Michaud

  • Postdoctoral scientist, Center for Geomicrobiology, Department of Bioscience, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Cryosphere geomicrobiology
  • a.b.michaud@gmail.com

BARKER photo1-2Joel Barker

  • Joel Barker
  • Assistant Professor, School of Earth Sciences, Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center, The Ohio State University
  • Biogeochemistry, black carbon
  • http://barker246.wixsite.com/barker-lab
  • barker.246@osu.edu

Molly Patterson-2Molly Patterson

  • Assistant Professor, Department of Geological Sciences and Environmental Studies, Binghamton University, SUNY
  • Sedimentology, stratigraphy and paleoclimatology
  • patterso@binghamton.edu

Al_cruise_blowup_goodAlan Gagnon

  • Research Specialist-Geology and Geophysics, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • National Ocean Sciences AMS sample preparation lab manager
  • agagnon@whoi.edu

Chris GardnerChristopher Gardner

  • Research Scientist, School of Earth Sciences, Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center, The Ohio State University
  • Geochemistry
  • Gardner.177@osu.edu